On this page
Earlier report,
Amazon, Flipkart line up card discounts of up to 10% for October festive sales
Our read
Bank eligibility is likely to steer where festive baskets land, while matched headline discounts push competition toward actual checkout value.
For operators
Align festive pricing and inventory with Amazon’s October 8 and Flipkart’s October 9 launches, accounting for eligible-card discounts of up to 10% without assuming all shoppers qualify.
Watch
Published eligibility rules, minimum spends and discount caps
Ask next
The report,
Amazon starts its Great Indian Festival on October 8, while Flipkart launches Big Billion Days on October 9, 2026. SBI cards offer a 10% instant discount on Amazon; eligible Axis Bank and ICICI Bank cards offer up to 10% on Flipkart.
- Amazon instant discount on eligible SBI cards10%
- Flipkart instant discount on partner cardsup to 10%
What we verified
Checked against the other reports of this story.
- Not a single-source story: Moneycontrol reports the same development independently.
The counter-case
The case against this reading — not reported by the source.
Headline discounts do not establish incremental demand or stronger profitability. Caps and eligibility restrictions may sharply reduce effective savings, while overlapping promotions could simply shift purchases between platforms or pull spending forward. Any margin pressure depends on who funds the offers.
Why it matters to operators
Benchmark Amazon–SBI and Flipkart–Axis/ICICI partnerships when evaluating bank-linked promotions, prioritizing eligible-customer reach and sustainable funding terms.
What to watch next
- Changes to competing product prices and delivery promises
- SBI, Axis Bank and ICICI Bank festive card-spending disclosures
- Amazon and Flipkart disclosures on orders and new customers
Likely next moves
Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.
- Amazon is likely to use its October 8 opening to pull forward purchases from SBI cardholders before Flipkart's sale begins.
- Flipkart is likely to emphasize Axis Bank and ICICI Bank eligibility alongside product-specific deals to attract shoppers who have not committed their festive baskets.
- Amazon and Flipkart may sharpen product pricing and delivery promises as similar headline card discounts reduce differentiation.
- Customers with eligible cards are likely to shift purchase timing and platform choice toward qualifying offers, making some sale-period demand a transfer rather than incremental spending.
Updates
Each later report on this story, newest first. Earlier entries are never edited; a correction is a new entry.
Amazon, Flipkart festive sales: SBI Cashback card offers flat 5% on both platforms, while other cards come with caps
- HDFC Swiggy Card monthly cashback cap: Rs 1,500
- HDFC Swiggy eligible monthly spend at 5 percent: Rs 30,000
Reported figures
From the report. Source details below
| Amazon separate offer cashback: | 35% |
|---|---|
| Amazon separate offer cashback cap: | ₹150 |
| Amazon Pay ICICI Bank cashback: | 5% |