On this page
UPI to show real-time rupee cost on overseas payments via HSBC, JPMorgan deals
Our read
Enabling real-time rupee cost display on cross-border UPI across 23 countries means we need to surface upfront FX transparency in checkout flows to match international card-network experiences.
Watch
Disclosed FX spread/markup vs card DCC rates
The report,
NPCI signed deals with HSBC India and JPMorgan to enable real-time FX conversion on cross-border UPI payments, letting Indian users see exact rupee cost before confirming overseas purchases, aligning UPI with international card networks' upfront conversion experience.
Channel facts
From the report. Source details below
- July 1
- June 30 2026
- 23 countries
What it means for online and offline
The bank-partnered FX conversion layer signals partnership and integration opportunities for players bridging UPI rails with global merchant acceptance and remittance corridors.
Signals to track
- Number of live countries vs the announced 23 in first 6 months
- Monthly cross-border UPI transaction volume and average ticket size
- RBI/LRS guidance on per-user cross-border UPI limits
- Card network response on outbound FX pricing
Likely next moves
Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.
- Card networks (Visa/Mastercard) counter with enhanced zero-markup or transparent-FX travel card tiers for Indian outbound spend
- Fintech FX players (Wise, Revolut, Niyo) reposition on total-cost transparency and multi-currency wallets
- NPCI signs additional corridor and settlement bank partners to widen live merchant acceptance
- Indian banks issuing UPI apps push cross-border spend nudges and cashback to build habit
- Merchant aggregators in top travel corridors integrate UPI QR to capture Indian tourist flow
The counter-case
The case against this reading — not reported by the source.
Real-time FX transparency doesn't change the fundamental adoption problem: cross-border UPI merchant acceptance remains thin outside a handful of corridors. Displaying rupee cost is table stakes, not a differentiator—cards have done this for years, and the '23 countries' figure likely reflects narrow merchant coverage (select QR-based retail, not broad online acceptance). NPCI captures no interchange revenue on zero-MDR UPI, so bank partners (HSBC, JPMorgan) monetize the FX spread, meaning the 'transparent' rate may still embed a markup that isn't actually cheaper than cards. Volume impact is likely marginal versus the domestic UPI base.
The source
First seen