On this page
Specified UPI merchant payments above ₹2,000 to attract 0.4% MDR from October 15
Our read
The reported MDR is more likely to reshape merchant margins and checkout incentives than materially weaken consumer UPI adoption.
For operators
Validate the reported rule’s scope before October 15, then model the 0.4% MDR on eligible UPI payments above ₹2,000 across store and online margins, factoring in the ₹300 cap.
Watch
Finance Ministry notification defining covered merchant payments and exemptions
The report,
The Finance Ministry announced a 0.4% MDR on specified person-to-merchant UPI payments above ₹2,000 from October 15, capped at ₹300 for transactions of ₹75,000 or more. Consumers will not bear merchant charges, and person-to-person payments remain free.
- MDR on specified UPI merchant payments
- 0.4%
- MDR applies to payments above
- ₹2,000
- MDR cap per transaction
- ₹300
- Transaction size at which cap applies
- ₹75,000 or more
What it means for online and offline
Evaluate payment-orchestration partnerships for measurable omnichannel fee savings, making acquisition assumptions contingent on confirmed transaction eligibility and fee-sharing economics.
Signals to track
- Acquirer fee schedules reflecting the October 15 rollout
- Changes to retailers' payment-linked checkout offers
- Retailer disclosures of payment costs and margin effects
- Changes in UPI's share of covered merchant payments
Likely next moves
Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.
- The Finance Ministry is likely to clarify which merchant payments fall within the specified scope ahead of October 15.
- UPI merchant acquirers are likely to update fee schedules and settlement reporting to distinguish covered payments from exempt transactions.
- Affected retailers may adjust payment-linked promotions differently online and in stores where alternative acceptance costs differ.
- Consumers are likely to retain their UPI payment habits because the merchant charge does not directly change their payment cost.
The counter-case
The case against this reading — not reported by the source.
The headline may overstate both certainty and retail impact. 'Specified' does not establish a blanket UPI merchant fee, and the supplied signal lacks an official notification. Even if confirmed, exposure depends on eligible transaction share and merchant exemptions; the ₹300 cap reduces the effective rate above ₹75,000. A broad omni-channel margin shock is therefore premature.