On this page
SBI plans 0.4% UPI merchant fee above ₹2,000 from October 15, 2027
Our read
SBI's fee is more likely to reshape higher-ticket checkout economics than disrupt mass-market UPI adoption.
For operators
Map SBI’s planned 0.4% UPI merchant fee above ₹2,000 into high-ticket omnichannel basket margins ahead of October 15, 2027, without assuming customers will absorb the cost.
Watch
SBI publishes final fee terms and confirms the implementation date
Ask next
The report,
SBI is preparing to implement a 0.4% UPI merchant fee on transactions above ₹2,000 from October 15, 2027, to partly offset infrastructure costs. It declined Apple Pay participation on commercial grounds; 96% of person-to-merchant UPI volumes remain exempt, and customers face no charges.
Channel facts
From the report. Source details below
| Essential-services flat transaction fee: | ₹5 |
|---|---|
| Essential-services per-transaction fee cap: | ₹300 |
| SBI UPI volume share: | 27% |
What it means for online and offline
Use SBI’s commercially driven rejection of Apple Pay to stress-test wallet partnerships and prioritize payment deals with demonstrable merchant savings and sustainable cost-sharing.
Signals to track
- Competing acquirers announce UPI merchant pricing offers
- Affected merchants' UPI payment share changes for purchases above ₹2,000
- SBI or Apple announces a change in Apple Pay participation
Likely next moves
Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.
- SBI is likely to clarify merchant coverage and collection mechanics for the planned 0.4% fee before October 15, 2027.
- Merchants affected by SBI's fee are likely to compare payment costs across channels and steer higher-value purchases toward cheaper options where available.
- SBI's merchant-acquiring rivals may pitch lower-cost acceptance to affected merchants, increasing competition for higher-ticket accounts.
- Apple may pursue Apple Pay partnerships with other banks rather than depend on SBI reversing its commercial decision.
The counter-case
The case against this reading — not reported by the source.
This is not yet evidence of market-wide UPI repricing or a meaningful omni-channel shift. A bank-specific proposal could have narrow coverage, face policy barriers, or never take effect. If 96% of merchant transaction volumes remain exempt and customers pay nothing, checkout behavior may barely change. Apple Pay non-participation is a separate commercial decision, not corroboration of broader UPI fee adoption.