Read the counter-case
On this page

Rapido’s zero-commission food app Ownly expands to Hyderabad after Bengaluru rollout

Our read

Rapido's zero-commission model is most likely to pressure incumbent take rates in dense metro pockets, but its national threat will depend on whether customer-paid delivery fees can sustain repeat demand without eroding the offline-price advantage.

For operators

Ownly’s Hyderabad launch tests whether zero restaurant commissions and price parity can sustain delivery demand while scaling operations beyond Bengaluru.

Watch

Whether Ownly can retain offline menu-price parity once restaurants add packaging, platform, or promotional costs.

Ask next

The report,

Rapido expanded zero-commission food delivery app Ownly to Hyderabad after Bengaluru, where it reports 25,000 restaurant partners and 50,000 daily orders. It plans metro-wide expansion, retaining offline menu prices and charging customers delivery fees to attract new food-delivery users.

Ownly reports over 25,000 restaurant partners and around 50,000 daily orders in Bengaluru
Restaurant partners in Bengaluru
25,000+
Daily orders in Bengaluru
around 50,000

Reported figures

From the report. Source details below

₹100 meal can cost ₹250-300 online
₹20 idli may cost ₹65 including delivery versus ₹120 final price

Also in the report

  • ₹80-120 restaurant meal price
  • 100 million food-delivery users projected within three years

Why it matters to operators

Ownly’s metro rollout could make Rapido a strategic partner or threat for restaurant-tech, logistics, and food-delivery players seeking lower-cost distribution.

What to watch next

  • Hyderabad daily order volume, repeat-order rate, delivery time, cancellation rate, and average delivery fee after the first 60-90 days.
  • Restaurant partner activation versus listed-partner count, especially for national chains and high-frequency local brands.
  • Evidence of Rapido rider supply strain or increased incentives as food orders compete with bike-taxi and parcel demand.
  • Zomato and Swiggy changes to commission structures, restaurant pricing policies, delivery subscriptions, or localized promotions.
  • Ownly's pace of metro launches from October and whether launches are full-service citywide or restricted to dense micro-markets.
Show 1 more
  • Any move toward platform fees, advertising monetization, restaurant subscriptions, or minimum-order thresholds.

Likely next moves

Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.

  • Prioritize Hyderabad restaurant clusters with high Rapido rider density and short delivery radii before wider city coverage.
  • Use Bengaluru order data to market lower effective restaurant costs and offline-price parity to chain and independent restaurants.
  • Bundle food-delivery discounts or free-delivery thresholds with Rapido mobility usage to lower customer-acquisition costs.
  • Introduce restaurant-paid optional services such as sponsored placement, logistics tools, payments, or analytics if zero commission proves insufficient.
  • Expect Zomato and Swiggy to offer targeted commission relief, visibility credits, exclusivity deals, and delivery-fee promotions in contested neighborhoods.

The counter-case

The case against this reading — not reported by the source.

Zero commission may be a customer-acquisition tactic rather than a durable advantage: delivery fees can suppress conversion, while rider incentives, refunds, support, payments and restaurant onboarding still create substantial costs. Bengaluru order volume does not establish profitable unit economics, repeat rates or density economics, and expansion to Hyderabad could amplify losses before the model is proven. Zomato and Swiggy can counter with targeted discounts, memberships, logistics scale and exclusive restaurant relationships.

The source

Source Read the source at Mint

Published

Confirmed by Business Standard, Financial Express, ET Hospitality

First seen