On this page
Private banks’ minimum-balance fees top PSBs’ ₹10,230 crore haul
Our read
Minimum-balance fee backlash pushes private banks toward softer penalties and low-balance account migration, not an immediate blanket ban
For operators
Private banks should reassess minimum-balance fee practices as large collections create customer-trust and regulatory-risk exposure while most PSBs have eliminated the charge.
Watch
RBI circular, consultation or supervisory communication on savings-account minimum-balance penalties.
Ask next
The report,
Parliament data showed HDFC Bank, Axis Bank and ICICI Bank collected over ₹11,000 crore in minimum-balance penalties during FY23-FY26, exceeding all 12 public-sector banks. Ten PSBs have ended such savings-account penalties, while RBI permits reasonable, transparent charges.
Reported figures
From the report. Source details below
- Over ₹5,600 crore collected by HDFC Bank
- 10 of 12 public sector banks discontinued savings-account minimum-balance penalties
- Approximately 73 crore BSBDAs, including PMJDY accounts, are exempt from such penalties
Why it matters to operators
The widening fee-policy divide offers acquirers and partners an opportunity to position low-fee banking propositions as a customer-acquisition differentiator against private-bank incumbents.
What to watch next
- Parliamentary questions or ministry statements calling for caps, waiver mandates or standardized disclosures.
- Quarterly disclosures showing a decline in private-bank service-charge income or a rise in customer refunds and fee reversals.
- Changes in HDFC Bank, ICICI Bank or Axis Bank savings-account minimum-average-balance thresholds, penalty slabs or waiver criteria.
- CASA market-share movement toward SBI, other PSBs, small-finance banks, payments banks or fintech-led accounts.
- Complaint volumes on banking ombudsman and consumer platforms related to non-maintenance charges.
Likely next moves
Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.
- RBI may seek updated bank-wise data on minimum-balance charges, customer communications, waiver practices and basic-account availability.
- Large private banks are likely to emphasize free digital, salary, basic savings and premium-account alternatives in customer messaging.
- Banks may increase pre-debit SMS/app alerts, grace periods and automatic account-plan conversion to reduce complaints without surrendering all fee income.
- PSBs may market zero-minimum-balance accounts more aggressively, using the contrast as a deposit-acquisition tool.
- Consumer groups and lawmakers may push for a standardized disclosure of minimum balance, penalty slabs, exemptions and annual fee incidence.
The counter-case
The case against this reading — not reported by the source.
The headline may overstate the implication that private banks are uniquely punitive: their larger fee total could primarily reflect bigger or more urban savings-account bases, different product mixes, and continued enforcement after PSBs chose to waive charges. Minimum-balance requirements are disclosed contractual terms and may subsidize low-cost account maintenance, branch access, and digital services; customers can often shift to zero-balance/basic accounts or competing banks.
The source
Published
First seen