Read the counter-case
On this page

Earlier report,

NPCI to levy 0.4% UPI MDR on payments above ₹2,000 from October 15

Since then, : UPI MDR rollout may slip from 15 October to January 2027, easing festive-season cost fears for small retailers

Our read

India’s proposed UPI MDR would hit large-ticket retailers first, prompting acquirer renegotiations and subtle steering toward cards, EMI and loyalty-linked payment offers rather than a broad consumer retreat from UPI.

For operators

Prepare to absorb or offset a proposed 0.4% UPI MDR on transactions above ₹2,000 from October 15 by reviewing checkout mix, basket thresholds and payment-routing economics at larger stores.

Watch

Final NPCI circular specifying applicability, exemptions, effective date, merchant-size thresholds and whether the 0.4% charge is mandatory or a ceiling.

The report,

NPCI’s new UPI MDR regime will charge a 0.4% fee on payments above ₹2,000 from October 15, with exemptions for smaller merchants, critical sectors and P2P transfers. Inc42 also highlighted five Indian fintech startups.

NPCI's UPI MDR to be 0.4% on payments above ₹2,000 from October 15
UPI MDR on payments above ₹2,000
0.4%

What we verified

Checked against the other reports of this story.

  • UPI MDR proposed for transactions above Rs 2,000: 0.4 percent — Inc42 and Moneycontrol agree.
  • Scheduled MDR rollout date: October 15 — Inc42 and CNBC-TV18 agree.

The counter-case

The case against this reading — not reported by the source.

The impact on retail checkout economics may be overstated. A 0.4% MDR only applies above ₹2,000, excludes several merchant categories and P2P transfers, and may affect a limited share of transaction volume for mass-market retailers. Large chains can also negotiate acquiring costs, steer customers toward lower-cost payment methods, absorb the fee, or adjust basket-level pricing. More importantly, a reported NPCI proposal is not equivalent to a final, enforceable MDR regime; implementation timing, merchant scope and fee pass-through remain uncertain.

Why it matters to operators

Prioritize partnerships or capabilities that lower acceptance costs, such as alternative payment rails, issuer offers and integrated checkout solutions, as UPI’s zero-cost merchant model evolves.

What to watch next

  • Government, RBI, bank and fintech responses, especially any subsidy, reimbursement or reversal of the proposed MDR regime.
  • Acquirer and payment-gateway notices on merchant pass-through pricing and changes to bundled payment-service contracts.
  • UPI transaction-volume and average-ticket shifts above ₹2,000 after implementation, including increased split transactions or migration to cards.
  • Competitor actions by large retailers, marketplaces and QSR chains on tender-specific discounts, surcharges or checkout messaging.

Likely next moves

Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.

  • Model incremental payment costs by UPI transaction band, merchant category and store format; prioritize categories with high average order values above ₹2,000.
  • Review acquirer and payment-gateway contracts for MDR pass-through clauses, volume rebates, settlement charges and pricing flexibility before October 15.
  • Design compliant tender-steering incentives for high-value baskets, such as card-linked offers, EMI promotions or loyalty rewards, without adding visible checkout friction.
  • Assess whether UPI-linked credit, card-on-UPI and merchant-funded offers can offset MDR through higher conversion, larger baskets or lower cash-handling costs.
  • Prepare customer communication and POS training in case payment-method pricing, discounts or transaction limits change.

Updates

Each later report on this story, newest first. Earlier entries are never edited; a correction is a new entry.

  1. Read the update at CNBC-TV18

    UPI MDR rollout may slip from 15 October to January 2027, easing festive-season cost fears for small retailers

    • MDR cap for transactions of ₹75,000 and above: ₹300
  2. Read the update at Moneycontrol

    NPCI weighs requests to defer UPI MDR to January 2027, with the 0.4% fee due to start on 15 October

    • MDR on Rs 2,000 transaction: Rs 8
    • MDR on Rs 10,000 transaction: Rs 40
    • MDR in basis points: 40 bps

On the record

Earlier NPCI reports on RetailIntel, newest first.

Reported figures

From the report. Source details below

  • ₹4 Cr
  • $14 Bn
  • Diwali 2026
  • over 20% CAGR

The source

Source Read the source at Inc42

Published

Confirmed by Moneycontrol, CNBC-TV18, News18

First seen