Read the counter-case
On this page

IHCL CEO Puneet Chhatwal's pay rises ~9% to ₹25 cr in FY26

Our read

IHCL's CEO pay ratio of 521.7 signals a widening leadership-to-median gap that could pressure internal equity narratives across the hospitality workforce.

Watch

AGM proxy-advisor recommendations on remuneration resolution

The report,

IHCL MD and CEO Puneet Chhatwal's remuneration rose nearly 9% to ₹25 crore in FY26, per the annual report. His basic salary cap was revised to ₹30 lakh/month effective April 1, 2026, through his tenure ending November 2027.

Who and when

From the report. Source details below

  • ₹23 cr FY25
  • 521.7 median ratio

Why the change matters

The defined salary cap and fixed tenure horizon to 2027 flag a succession-planning window that partners and acquirers should factor into medium-term engagement timing.

What to watch next

  • FY27 quarterly RevPAR and occupancy trends validating growth thesis
  • Any succession-planning announcement or board extension
  • ESG-fund flags on median pay ratio disparity
  • Comparable exec-pay disclosures from listed hospitality peers

Likely next moves

Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.

  • IHCL to reiterate FY27 room-addition and new-brand pipeline targets to justify leadership premium
  • Board to signal succession or extension intent ahead of Nov 2027 tenure end
  • IR to preempt pay-ratio commentary with employee-welfare and wage-growth disclosures
  • Peers (Oberoi, Marriott India, ITC Hotels) benchmark exec comp against Tata Group norms

The counter-case

The case against this reading — not reported by the source.

A CEO pay hike is a governance and sentiment footnote, not a fundamental driver. ₹25 cr on IHCL's revenue base is immaterial to earnings, and the ~9% raise merely tracks inflation and prior-year growth. The 521.7 median pay ratio invites ESG and optics criticism without moving the investment thesis. This is a non-event for the stock.

The source

Source Read the source at Business Standard

Published

Also reported by ET Small Business, Outlook Business

First seen