Read the counter-case
On this page

Cashfree integrates Snapmint's Pay-in-3, 0% UPI EMI into One Click Checkout for D2C brands

Our read

Enabling card-free Pay-in-3 and 0% UPI EMI in One Click Checkout can unlock 20-30% higher conversion and 30-40% AOV lift with 3-5 day onboarding, so prioritize the integration to capture UPI-first shoppers who lack credit cards.

Watch

Competitor BNPL-checkout announcements from Razorpay/PhonePe/LazyPay

Ask next

The report,

Cashfree Payments integrates Snapmint's Pay-in-3 and 0% EMI on UPI into its One Click Checkout, letting Indian D2C brands offer card-free installment payments to UPI-native, credit-card-absent shoppers, boosting conversion and average order values.

Channel facts

From the report. Source details below

credit card penetration below 5%

Also in the report

  • 50 million Snapmint users
  • 3-5 working days onboarding

Other figures

  • 700 million UPI users
  • 2,600 cities
  • 2,000 brands
  • conversion up 20-30%

What it means for online and offline

This partnership deepens Cashfree's checkout-plus-lending stack via Snapmint's installment rails, a defensive move worth watching as embedded BNPL becomes table-stakes and a potential acquisition or exclusivity flashpoint among payment aggregators.

Signals to track

  • Actual RTO and delinquency rates published after 90 days of live volume
  • RBI guidance on UPI-linked credit and BNPL disclosure norms
  • Brand churn or retention metrics post-onboarding
  • Subvention cost impact on brand margins vs conversion gains

Likely next moves

Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.

  • Cashfree markets conversion/AOV benchmarks to accelerate D2C sign-ups beyond initial 2,000 brands
  • Snapmint scales lending capital and refines underwriting to hold RTO under 2% at volume
  • Rival PSPs announce competing 0% EMI/BNPL integrations to defend share
  • D2C brands A/B test EMI at checkout and reallocate discount budgets toward EMI subvention

The counter-case

The case against this reading — not reported by the source.

The headline metrics are vendor-supplied marketing claims, not audited outcomes. '20-30% higher conversion,' '30-40% AOV lift,' and 'RTO below 2%' are almost certainly cherry-picked from best-case pilot brands, not blended averages across 2,000 merchants. BNPL/EMI on impulse D2C purchases historically inflates AOV precisely because customers over-extend, which raises default and RTO risk over time, not lowers it. The '0% UPI EMI' framing hides who eats the cost of financing—likely the D2C brand via MDR/subvention, compressing already-thin margins. Snapmint's underwriting on thin-file, sub-5%-credit-card users is unproven at scale and vulnerable to RBI's tightening digital-lending and BNPL regulatory posture.

The source

Source Read the source at YourStory Published

First seen